By Lilah Heinz and Stella Largent | ACGC FFA Chapter Reporters

The 96th Annual Iowa FFA State Convention was held April 14-16 in Ames. The ACGC

Chapter had 32 members attend and participate in multiple events and competitions throughout

the convention.

This year, the chapter had three members who qualified to compete in the Leadership

Development Events. Two members, Nora Langgaard and Calleigh Wolfe, competed in the

Greenhand Quiz contest, receiving a silver and bronze rating, respectively. Gavin Sloss qualified

his Treasurer’s Book to be judged, and he also received a silver rating.

The chapter had six Career Development Events compete at the 96th Conference as well. The ACGC Chapter Exhibit received a Gold rating. Members that competed in this contest were Shay Lemke, Belle Fagan and Camdyn Richter.

The Marketing Plan team, which consisted of Rylee Robson, Irelyn Wirt and Ava Sneller, received eighth place as a team and a silver rating.

The ACGC Team Ag Sales received a silver rating as well. The members on that team were Tucker Carroll, Bo Arrasmith, Gavin Sloss and Tyler Thomas.

Chase Slaybaugh, Xander Harwood and Jack Sheeder participated in the Poultry Evaluation contest, receiving a bronze rating.

The Agricultural Communications team of Lilah Heinz, Stella Largent, Caydence Boals and Lucy Knutter received a bronze rating.

Team of Carley Fagan, Casey Young and Gracie Hodges participated in the Farm Business Management CDE and received a bronze rating as well.

There were three members who received awards on behalf of the chapter and for their individual accomplishments this year. Carley Fagan received the ambassador award for our chapter, which was a Gold rating, while Tucker Carroll received the Supreme National Chapter Award and the ACGC FFA received a silver rating. Jarrett McClain was recognized for winning the State Proficiency category of Agriscience – Plant Systems.

To round out the awards given at the State Conference, the chapter had four

members receive their pins for their Iowa FFA degrees. These members included Belle Fagan,

Shay Lemke, Jarrett McClain and Gavin Sloss.

Members also toured the career fair and listened to visiting state officers from around the country. Isabelle Rouse and Laurin Davis also got to participate in the State FFA Band, and Emmarae Ellis, Allison Drake and Montana Douglas participated in the State FFA Chorus. Camdyn and Carter Richter also served as delegates for the chapter. On Sunday, all members got the chance to listen to the keynote speaker of the convention, Nick “Sunshine” Tokman.