Deadline is March 18.

Special to the Times Vedette

The Guthrie County Youth Foundation is accepting applications for scholarships from the Class of 2024. Students who plan to further their education in two or three-year programs that are in vocational, technical or medical fields are urged to apply.

Last year, 15 scholarships of $300 were awarded to students in the class of 2023 from Adair-Casey / Guthrie Center, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Panorama and West Central Valley High Schools. Home school students are also eligible.

Selected for scholarships were:

  • Adair Casey / Guthrie Center: Jaeleigh Graham, AJ Hays, Jalen Michaelson, Addysen Sorensen, Cooper Tunink
  • Coon Rapids-Bayard: Jacob Estrada, Abigail Hofbauer
  • Panorama: McKenna Burns, Kylie Doran, Dane Kemble, Lindsey Meyer, Rylie Wetel
  • West Central Valley: Dakota Mae Overbeck, Chelsie Reynolds, Bethany Speichinger

Last year’s scholarship recipients need to provide proof of their successful completion of the first semester to receive payment of their awards. The deadline for submission is June 30, 2024.

Applications for the Class of 2024 are available from guidance counselors at the high schools or from Luann Waldo,

The deadline for applications is March 18. The recipients will be announced at senior awards night at each school district.

The scholarships are funded by $30 yearly memberships paid by individuals, businesses and organizations in and serving Guthrie County.

Forrest Schnobrich of Casey is president of GCYF with Luann Waldo of Panora serving as secretary / treasurer. Matt Pearey of Guthrie Center; Lori Christensen of Stuart and Pam Grow of Bagley are directors. The directors are responsible for soliciting memberships and will be doing so soon.

If you are interested in becoming a member, please contact one of the directors. If you want additional information, call Waldo at 712-651-2321 during normal business hours.